« Consumer Spending Is Killing America's Economy | Main | Lots Of Bad Economic News, Sigh »

Comments

JSmith

From the linke BBC article: "The civil rights groups say that a predicted wave of foreclosures stems from "reckless and unaffordable loans", for which the lenders must bear some responsibility."

I'll agree with that. Sub-prime loans were made to people who weren't what any normal bank would call creditworthy. (However, the "sub-prime" market is a very small fraction of the entire US mortgage industry.)

DeVaul: "They paid after my boss called them, but the sheriff's office could not provide me with a paper receipt! The best they could do was make a screen shot of my account on their computer and print that out and mail it to me. Can you believe that?"

Who in hell can't print a receipt?!

"It is the Kentucky Housing Corporation, a state funded entity..."

Oh. That explains it.

"For some reason, Chase never screwed me."

Chase actually isn't a bad organization to deal with - our mortgage was with Chase.

Canuck

In contrast I got a call from my bank a few years ago. It was the unit of the bank that dealt with the tax portion of our mortgage payment. They inquired whether I was aware that I could garner some increased interest by handling my own tax payment. They told me that there was interest accrued in my tax account but that I could likely get a better rate if I handled it myself. That would be the Royal Bank of Canada, which has well established US operations FYI.

DeVaul

Well, it was the sheriff who could not print me a receipt after informing my boss that the bill had been paid, but I have no doubt that KHC would not be able to give me a real receipt either.

Elaine Meinel Supkis

Correct, Canuck. I always paid my own taxes. Usually, when making the mortgage, that is the time to negotiate this. But then, I always was putting down more than 50% of the cost of the property so no bank ever argued with me.

The average buyer doesn't have enough leverage to do this, unfortunately.

Smith, Chase Manhattan is one bank I never argued with. Must be the Rockefeller influence.

Daliwood

Unfortunately, my mortgage co. (Countrywide) wouldn't let me decline an escrow account for taxes and insurance--unless I was willing to pay 1.5% more on the home loan rate.

Last year, my insurance company decided that my home had appreciated by 25% in 1 year and jacked up the premium, and they further decided that I wasn't allowed to insure the house for less than THEY thought it was worth (that's utter BS). I fought them for weeks and finally got the premium down, but Countrywide had already paid the bill, so they adjusted my escrow payment upward to compensate for the larger bill. I still haven't been able to get Countrywide to lower the escrow payment, despite their assurances that they would.

My worst mortgage experience, however, came with GMAC (now the owners of that lovely lender Ditech). My mortgage was sold to them, and I had nothing but problems with them--the worst of which was "accidentally" debiting my checking account for 2 house payments in 1 month. It took me almost a year to get the money back, and I never got all of it.

I no longer allow any company to have debit authhority on my account for automatic payments. I learned the hard way that you're giving away full access to your money with little or no recourse when there's a "mistake."

DeVaul

Wow! That is awful, but I guess that explains why I always have an "escrow shortage". My insurance and property taxes all went up even though my house is the same. I actually lost money during the housing boom.

I tried to get my mortgage company (again, KHC) to remove the PMI insurance because I have nearly one half equity in my home. They refused, saying I did not qualify for removal of this tax.

Every year now I have an escrow shortage.

best home loan

Here in the Chicago area it is about 10 degrees below zero, the coldest night of the year. But I’m starting to see signs of Spring. Well, maybe not Spring, but I do see signs that we are going to have a Spring buying market this year. Traditionally January is the slowest time of the year in the real estate and mortgage market.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Blog powered by Typepad